143035_DBW Course_r3

Chapter 5 X Accident Prevention and Rescue

Accident Assistance A vessel operator who witnesses or is involved in an accident is responsible for helping other people in the accident, as long as it does not endanger his or her vessel, crew and passengers. Any person offering help in “good faith,” without objection by anyone being helped, can’t be held liable for the results of that help. Accident Reporting If you are in a boating accident, you must report it to California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways or the local marine law enforcement author ity. This may be the local harbor patrol, county sheriff or the Coast Guard. waterway. Report the following information: ƒ Date, time and exact location of the accident. ƒ Name of each person who disappeared, died or was injured, and the vessels involved. ƒ Names and addresses of the owner, operator and passengers of all boats involved. A formal report must be filed with the California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways: ƒ Within 48 hours if someone has disappeared or died, or if a person has injuries that require more than first aid. ƒ Within 10 days if the accident involves more than $500 damage, or the boat is a complete loss. A vessel operator involved in an accident that causes damage to a moored boat or other property must notify the owner or person in charge of the property. If the operator can’t locate the owner or person in charge of the property, the operator involved in the accident must leave a written notice in an easy-to-see place on the property damaged. This notice must give the name and address of the operator and of the owner of the vessel involved, and a statement describing what happened. If a person dies, disappears, or needs medical attention beyond first aid, the incident must be reported to the enforcement agency responsible for the


WEBSITE For informat ion on repor t ing accident s and an onl ine f i l lable accident form, visi t dbw.parks. ca.gov/AccidentReporting Failure to submit a boating accident report as required is a misdemeanor and is punishable by a fine not to exceed $1000 or imprisonment not to exceed 6 months or both.

Scan the QR code to open the onl ine Boat ing Accident Repor t (BAR) form.


California Course for Safe Boating

Made with FlippingBook - Online Brochure Maker